ClubAdventist is back!

Action to bring in more gas

In an effort to get more gas on the market .... the EPA is allowing 'dirty' gas to go on the market in the Atlanta area. This is in hopes that it will lessen the tight gas supplies.

At last the government is doing something to help us.

Well ... I do hope it helps. But what if this dirty gas clogs up the engines of our cars? I sure hope not. Do we have any mechanics here? Do we know if this will be harmful to our engines?

May we be one so that the world may be won.
Christian from the cradle to the grave
I believe in Hematology.

Oh Gene.....What is your opinion on dirty gas in our cars???

BTW, Gene is the moderator of "Ask a Mechanic" forum....or at least, he was.....

Democracy is a device that ensures we shall be governed no better than we deserve.

George Bernard Shaw

I'm not a mechanic, but from what I've read, they are just temporarily relaxing the restrictions that Atlanta has for gas. They're allowing a dirtier grade of gas, more like what the rest of use daily. Atlanta normally has tighter restrictions to help deal with pollution.

You know, the whole gas discussion makes me crazy, because there are so many alternatives out there for sources of energy. The technology is there for cleaner, cheaper energy. It is totally not necessary to be putting up with all this pollution in our air and water. But the oil/gas lobbies are so powerful, and their congressional perks so nice, that no one can hardly compete. Thankfully, more private investors are getting interested in wind, solar, hydrogen, Sterling engines, etc.

I'm not a mechanic, but from what I've read, they are just temporarily relaxing the restrictions that Atlanta has for gas. They're allowing a dirtier grade of gas, more like what the rest of use daily. Atlanta normally has tighter restrictions to help deal with pollution.