ClubAdventist is back!

"war in heaven" - real or metaphorical?

abelisle

• Members

We all know the reference: "Revelation 12:7-9 (King James Version)

7And there was war in heaven: Michael and his angels fought against the dragon; and the dragon fought and his angels,

8And prevailed not; neither was their place found any more in heaven.

9And the great dragon was cast out, that old serpent, called the Devil, and Satan, which deceiveth the whole world: he was cast out into the earth, and his angels were cast out with him.

With the new movie "Legion" coming out today, I am once more becoming aware of that most wonderful source of Biblical motifs/themes - the movie industry. Sometimes I feel like God is continually prodding us with all these wonderful Biblical archetypes portrayed in many movies that are ever present in the collective (un)consciousness (just an underhanded reference to Jung) of the masses.

But as for me, as a retired English teacher, I can't ignore or believe the official EGW estates stand that EGW wasn't influenced by John Milton's Paradise Lost. There are just too many references to this epic poem to make me think that either she took a lot of sneak peeks while no one was looking (but that had to be tricky since it was stored high up in the corner) Elder Andrews said, "Sister White, have you ever read Milton's Paradise Lost?"

Page 4

"No," she replied.

"Have you ever read any of his writings?

Again she replied, "No."

A few weeks later he brought a copy of Paradise Lost, and read to Father and Mother some of Milton's descriptions of the experiences of Lucifer in his great rebellion. Later on he brought a new copy which he had purchased and gave it to Mother.

She thanked him for it, and looked at it a few minutes without opening it, put it on a high shelf in a cupboard built in back of the stove and under the chimney support. There the book lay many days and several years.