ClubAdventist is back!

Adventist Attitudes Toward Literature

SarahAnne

Hi, I'm new here, and I'm not really sure if this is the ideal place to post this question. If it's not a moderator is welcome to move it.

I'm a SDA high school student who's very interested in English Literature. I'm seriously considering taking it in college and teaching it. However, having grown up in a very conservative home, I still see a certain inconsistency in much of cannon literature and strict SDA principles. I'm interested in hearing thoughts from both "conservative" and "liberal" sides. (I'm sorry for the use of those words, but I'm sure you all understand my basic meaning.)

What are your views of fiction? What about Shakespeare? What were/are the ideas on literature in the SDA environment of which you were/are a part?

Christ's religion is poetry.

Welcome SarahAnne! (Same name as my Grandaughter) My educated opinion is not worth much here, but if not for the wonderful and thoughtful instruction of my English teacher at Union College (the late Mrs. Hagglegantz) I would not have even wanted to open a book and read it. She actually shared with me a whole new world out there even though most of it was, and understood, as fiction. Of course I started with Shakespeare, but soon ventured out into the would of other writers.

Since then, I have focused my study on what is fact or fiction in regards to the bible as we have it today--both the new and old testament. There is no such thing as 'conservative' or 'liberal' sides to the cannon, it is either fact or fiction. Please forgive the many sentence structure errors. English lit helps one to discover the many meanings of different words. Good luck.