ClubAdventist is back!

Academic Excellence - what is it?

StillGreen

I have been teaching for 14 years. For the last 5+ years there has been a real emphasis on "academic excellence" or "excellence in education". It is a term that is used incessantly in academic circles. Everybody seems to have it, but yet I have found very few that can define it. It is one of those phrases that creates the perception of perfection and for many carries with it the guilt of expectations beyond reason. For the perfectionist it is sheer torture, because you can never be good enough.

If every child in your classroom does not get an "A", are you then a failure academic excellence?

So, what are your definitions of academic excellence?

I remember being on School Boards, a teacher was defined as a good teacher if he/she was able to control a class and have it quiet.

I did not see that as the best way to run a class.

HOWEVER I am not an educator, there are others on here that are.

If you receive benefit to being here please help out with expenses.

https://www.paypal.me/clubadventist

Administrator of a few websites like https://adventistdating.com

Generally, it seems that "academic excellence" has to do with the ability of the student to get good grades. So, getting good grades leads to a better job, and a better life, right?

But it isn't necessarily so. Some students can do well in school, as they are able to perform better for the teacher and on tests and so get better grades. That doesn't have any relationship to their ability to do well in life. (personal experience here)

Am not sure what the stats are right now, but a few years ago over50% of the presidents of the fortune 500 had not completed High School. I know a few very successful business leaders like that.

I would suspect they had teachers who taught them to think. To me those teachers taught academic excellence.

If you receive benefit to being here please help out with expenses.

https://www.paypal.me/clubadventist