ClubAdventist is back!

Volunteering and looking for work + potential girlfriend.

Doug

SO I lost my job about a little over 2 years now. I have been living at home with my aunt and brother. I was paying rent when I was employed but now my aunt is giving me a break. I am studying for a certificate that will help me get a job but I haven't really been motivated to be successful.

So my weekly duties are taking my aunt to her various appointments, going shopping for her and picking up her medicines at CVS. I do this because I love her and want to help her as much as possible.

I've been volunteering at the church food bank for about a year. I go every monday and I drive downtown Los Angeles to pick up the food, drive it back to the church and put it away. But the amount of food I have to pick up has been increasing. Sometimes I pack my little car with so much food I can't even see out of the back. It's packed so that even the front seat and floor is packed. Last few times we had to go rent a U-Haul truck to go get the food. I think I should get at least minimum wage to do all of this. I've been doing it for free, they do give me my gas back at the end of the year, but not everything.

They had people who were retired to do the pickups but they were at least getting social security. I get nothing. Nobody wants to volunteer during the week because everyone works.My aunt buys me lunch sometimes but I would rather have money. I really like helping people but sometimes I feel like people are exploiting my willingness to help. Am I off base?