ClubAdventist is back!

The Sabbath & Prison Employment

Gregory Matthews

• Moderators

A devout SDA wants to be hired as a Correctional Officer at a California Prison, and to be free of duty on the Sabbath.  Should she be accommodated?

See:

http://www.sfchronicle.com/opinion/openforum/article/California-must-honor-its-commitment-to-religious-11197155.php

My comments:

*  If this case is being tried under California law, I do not have enough knowledge to know what her legal rights may be.

*  If this case if  being tried under Federal law, I believe that there is a strong likelihood that she will lose her lawsuit.

*  I have some close knowledge of the California prison system and how it operates.  Every so often (I believe it is every 3 years) the Correctional Officers may compete for a position.  That position will have specified hours and days to be worked.  They will not be normally required to work outside of those hours, but, they may do so voluntarily.  Therefore, I will suggest that there may be a system that could be used to accommodate her.    E.G.  I personally know a California Prison Correctional Officer who has a job that requires him to work Wednesday through Sunday.  He has Monday and Tuesday off.  The only times he is required to work outside of those hours is when he is taking training which is always Monday through Friday.

NOTE:  He is not a SDA.

Gregory

Somebody's got to work on Saturdays. I just don't understand why some SDAs believe they should be exempt from working while they continue to use goods and services that are produced by others who must work Saturdays. For example, using the Internet or wi-fi on Sabbath; driving on city streets; using the telephone; going out to eat; using electricity; relying on emergency services and army forces. It is hypocritical, in my opinion. 

• Like 1

• Moderators

In her present position at the prison, she may (?) be working on the Sabbath.  That point is not clear. 

Gregory

• Moderators